Quote Of The Day

"Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake - Chessmaster Savielly Grigorievitch Tartakower (1887-1956)"

Wednesday, June 06, 2001

6. I can juggle & unicycle at the same time - FALSE...
Not at the same time anyway. When I was twenty-nine I decided I wanted to learn how to juggle and unicycle at the same time before I was thirty. I enrolled in a circus school called The Circus Space and went there three or four times a week to practice. Juggling was easy. Making it look easy was hard. I started off with balls. Then moved to clubs. Moving from odd numbers to even numbers is always the hard bit. 3 to 4 or 5 to 6. Once I got the hang of it I'd show off my new skill at every chance I got. It made me a real hit at family parties as it kept the kids entertained for hours. I even juggled with knives when very drunk at the Brain Club once. I was too drunk though and ended up chopping off the tip of one of my fingers. Ouch! It grew back needless to say. I soon teamed up with my friend Roger and we became juggling partners. We'd practice at the YMCA on Saturday afternoons. We got quite good and drew quite a crowd. After mastering clubs came the unicycling. That was a bit harder. However lots of bruised knees later I finally managed it. I vene bought my own by I could practise at weekends. At one point I owned two. Soon I got quite good at this too and would daringly go for rides on the roads sometimes. I even joined a unicycle hockey team - five-a-side; few rules. The final step was to marry the two skills together. Not an easy task. In fact one I never achieved. My thirtieth came and went. So I'm a failure. I can't do both at the same time.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.