Quote Of The Day

"Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake - Chessmaster Savielly Grigorievitch Tartakower (1887-1956)"

Friday, November 05, 2010

Stonewall Awards 2010...

Last night the lovely Allegra treated me to a very special evening out. We went to the fifth annual Stonewall Awards ceremony, hosted by Sue Perkins, at the V&A in London's glitzy South Kensington. Without the anticipated demo the evening began at 7pm sharp with a champagne and canapé reception. Then we had the awards proper. After the ceremony the evening continued with further champagne and food. Carriages arrived at 10:30pm. What a great night it was. Rubbing shoulders with the great and good in the gay world as well spending some quality time with Allegra. Bliss. (Pix to follow)
Here was the short lists for the awards and the winners:-
Entertainer of the Year
Simon Amstell
Colin Firth
Jane Lynch
Kele Okereke
John Partridge (winner)
Broadcast of the Year
Coronation Street (ITV) (winner)
Dispatches-Africa’s Last Taboo (Channel 4)
EastEnders (BBC)
Emmerdale (ITV)
The Sex Education Show (Channel 4)
Journalist of the Year, supported by Herbert Smith
John Cross
Caitlin Moran
Martin Popplewell
Patrick Strudwick (winner)
Politician of the Year, supported by hervia.com - luxury fashion retail
Lord Avebury
Rt Hon John Bercow MP (winner)
Baroness Campbell of Surbiton
Councillor Steve Reed
Writer of the Year
Emma Donoghue, Room
Stella Duffy, Theodora: Actress, Empress, Whore (joint winner)
Damon Galgut, In a Strange Room
Jackie Kay, Red Dust Road
Rupert Smith, Man’s World (joint winner)
Publication of the Year, supported by Prudential
The Lawyer
Midlands Zone
Radio Times
The Times (winner)
Sports Award of the Year
The Caledonian Thebans
Daniel Kowalski
Martina Navratilova (winner)
Lee Pearson
Cristiano Ronaldo
Hero of the Year, supported by G3
Clare Balding
Kath Gillepsie Sells
Dr Jeffrey John
Joe McElderry
Gareth Thomas (winner)
Bigot of the Year
Frederick Forsyth
A.A. Gill
Chris Grayling (winner)
Rt Rev Arthur Roche
Susanne Wilkinson
Community Group of the Year, supported by Prudential
Over 6,000 Stonewall supporters cast their vote for Community Group of the Year kindly sponsored by Prudential. MindOut was presented with a cheque for £5,000 to help continue and sustain their work.
Enhanced by Zemanta

1 comment:

  1. Anonymous1:20 am

    You seem to have left mind out of , of your list of winners any reason for that? they won community group off the year and were voted for by 6000 members of stonewall.
    Paula Reid


Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.